After a DWI Arrest in New Hampshire
New Hampshire DWI Attorneys
Being arrested for DWI or DUI in New Hampshire can be very confusing and overwhelming. DWI stands for Driving While Intoxicated; DUI stands for Driving Under the Influence. These terms are often interchanged in New Hampshire. A DWI or DUI arrest usually occurs after it is alleged that a person's blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is above the legal limit. This does not mean, however, that a person arrested for a DWI in New Hampshire does not have rights. Consulting with an experienced NH DWI defense lawyer is the best step to understand the charges and defend your rights. Additionally, repeat DWI arrests can lead to significant jail time and hefty fines. It is important to seek representation that has significant knowledge of these types of charges and how they proceed in court.
What to Expect after a New Hampshire DWI Arrest
When a person is arrested for a DWI, they will be prosecuted by the Court, as well as the NH Department of Motor-Vehicles (DMV). A Court DWI hearing will only lead to conviction if there is adequate evidence to prove that the person was impaired while driving. In some cases, even if the BAC test confirms a concentration of 0.08 or higher, or 0.02 or higher for underage DWI, it may not be considered admissible evidence. For BAC results to be admissible, the test must have been administered by a properly certified official; likewise for field sobriety tests. If any of these standardized tests were administered by an individual out of compliance with certification requirements, then the BAC results, and thus the arrest, may be void. In the case of a conviction, however, a person may face:
- Class B misdemeanor charges;
- A fine of at least $500;
- Completion of an impaired driver intervention program; and
- Driver's license revocation, or Administrative License Suspension (ALS), of 9 months to 2 years.
Having your driver's license suspended can have an adverse impact on your daily life and make it difficult for you to earn a living. You may challenge the DMV-ordered administrative license suspension (ALS), but only by fulfilling certain requirements.
To contest the ALS, you must request an ALS hearing within 30 days of your arrest, or receipt of your BAC test results. This is the only opportunity you will get to challenge your license suspension. Failing to request a hearing within the prescribed 30 days will automatically result in the suspension of your driver's license for the imposed time. Immediately contacting a skilled New Hampshire ALS suspension attorney after your arrest would ensure that you never miss a deadline.
Why You Need an Attorney
After a DWI arrest, many people make the mistake of simply waiting until the arraignment date. If you have been arrested for a DWI in New Hampshire, you want to make sure your rights are protected and that you are not taken advantage of. At Tenn And Tenn, P.A., our Manchester DWI lawyers will examine every detail of your case and ensure that any inappropriate evidence is not used against you.
If you want to ensure the protection of your legal rights, call us today for a free telephone consultation at (888) 332-5855.
"The team at Tenn And Tenn are hands down the best legal representation I have had the pleasure to work with."Justin B.
"I could not have been more fortunate to have selected the offices of Tenn & Tenn. 10/5 stars!"Davin S.
"Had I not hired John Tenn as my attorney, I don't think I would have gotten nearly as much from my settlement as I did."Darren S.
A Family Firm
We are a family committed to providing excellent service to our clients.
Statewide ServiceWe work hard to obtain the best results possible for clients throughout New Hampshire.
Trial-Tested AttorneysOur lawyers are experienced courtroom advocates who are ready to take your case to trial to obtain justice.
Whether you have questions or you’re ready to get started, our award-winning legal team is ready to help. Complete our form below or call us at (888) 332-5855.