Top

Accidents Caused by Texting While Driving in New Hampshire

Driver texting on flip phone while driving

Texting while driving in NH is against the law and for good reason.  Texting involves manual, visual, and cognitive distractions simultaneously. Sending or reading a text takes your eyes off the road for an average of 4.6 seconds.  At 55 mph, that’s the equivalent of driving the length of an entire football field, blindfolded.

The NH personal injury lawyers at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. have represented many personal injury victims who have been injured by motorists who were distracted while driving and texting, rather than watching the roadway.

Texting While Driving Facts

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) reports:

  • Approximately 3,092 people were killed and 416,000 were injured due to distracted driving in 2010
  • 18% of all automobile accident injuries in 2010 were due to distracted driving
  • 16% of all distracted driving crashes involving drivers under 20
  • Texting drivers are 23 times more likely to get involved in a crash

According to a report by the American Automobile Association, nearly 50 percent of teens admit to texting while driving.

To stop this nationwide epidemic of texting while driving, more than 34 states now have texting while driving laws.  In New Hampshire, RSA 265:105-a Prohibited Text Messages and Device Usage While Operating a Motor Vehicle, which took effect January 1, 2010, attempts to stop this texting-while-driving trend.

New Hampshire Texting Law

The NH law against texting- RSA 265:105-a Prohibited Text Messages and Device Usage While Operating a Motor – provides as follows:

I.  A person operating a moving motor vehicle who writes a text message or uses 2 hands to type on or operate an electronic or telecommunications device, is guilty of a violation. A person does not write a text message when he or she reads, selects, or enters a phone number or name in a wireless communications device for the purpose of making a phone call. 

II. The fine for a violation of this section shall be $100.

If you or a loved one has been injured due to a distracted driver, the personal injury attorneys in Manchester, NH are here to help.  We can be reached at (888) 332-5855. All initial telephone consultations are confidential and free of charge.

Categories: 
Related Posts
  • Winter Slip and Falls in New Hampshire Read More
  • Concussions–Frequently Asked Questions in New Hampshire Read More
  • Who is Responsible if I’m Hit by a School Bus? Read More
/
Why Choose Tenn And Tenn Let Our Family Help Your Family
  • A Family Firm

    We are a family committed to providing excellent service to our clients.

  • Statewide Service
    We work hard to obtain the best results possible for clients throughout New Hampshire.
  • Trial-Tested Attorneys
    Our lawyers are experienced courtroom advocates who are ready to take your case to trial to obtain justice.
Free Injury Consultations Available Contact Us Today

Whether you have questions or you’re ready to get started, our award-winning legal team is ready to help. Complete our form below or call us at (888) 332-5855.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy

Please do not include any confidential or sensitive information in a contact form, text message, or voicemail. The contact form sends information by non-encrypted email, which is not secure. Submitting a contact form, sending a text message, making a phone call, or leaving a voicemail does not create an attorney-client relationship.