Drunk Driving Defense Attorneys in New Hampshire
New Hampshire DUI Defense
The charge of “Driving While Intoxicated”, otherwise known as “Driving Under the Influence” (DUI) or Operating Under the Influence (OUI) affects a large number of individuals each year. Statistics reveal that nearly 1.5 million Americans were arrested for DUI/DWI in 2006 in New Hampshire. A drunk driving offense is a serious criminal matter. A DUI/DWI conviction will result in significant fines, extended periods of license loss, alcohol programs and possible jail time.
If you have been charged with DUI or DWI in New Hampshire, you now face two battles. First, you must deal with a criminal prosecution in State Court. Second, the civil Administrative License Suspension from the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles must also be challenged. In both cases, you will have to fight to retain your license. New Hampshire does not offer a restricted license or a so called “Cinderella” license that allows you to drive back and forth to work. Once your New Hampshire license or driving privileges have been suspended or revoked, you will not be able to drive in the State of New Hampshire.
A DWI case can involve many complicated legal and factual issues. A skilled New Hampshire DWI defense attorney will examine whether the police had a proper reason to initiate the motor vehicle stop, whether standardized field sobriety tests were properly administered and scored, whether the police had a legal basis to arrest you for DUI/DWI, and whether the officer properly advised you of your rights before submitting to a breath or blood test, among other issues.
A DUI or DWI conviction in New Hampshire will result in significant penalties and collateral consequences. A first offense DUI conviction requires a minimum ninety (90) day actual loss of license and a maximum two (2) year loss of license; a fine between $500 and $1,200, plus a 24% penalty assessment; and a twenty (20) hour Impaired Driver Intervention Program at a cost of approximately $600. If the driver convicted of DWI was under the age of twenty-one (21), the minimum period of license loss is one (1) year. In addition to the Court imposed penalties for a DWI 1st offense, there are significant collateral consequences. DWI convictions can trigger a number of additional consequences, which may include loss of insurance, high insurance rates, an Ignition Interlock Device, loss of a job, loss of future employment options, loss of student aid, and the loss of a professional license.
Contact Our Experienced Defense Attorneys
If you have been arrested in New Hampshire for DUI or DWI, your best course of action is to retain the services of a skilled New Hampshire DUI/DWI attorney. A DWI conviction has lasting repercussions. The experienced DWI defense lawyers at Tenn And Tenn P.A. regularly handle criminal and administrative proceedings stemming from drunk driving cases.
If you or a loved one has been charged with DUI/DWI in New Hampshire, contact the New Hampshire drunk driving defense lawyers at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. for a free telephone consultation at (888) 332-5855.
"The team at Tenn And Tenn are hands down the best legal representation I have had the pleasure to work with."Justin B.
"I could not have been more fortunate to have selected the offices of Tenn & Tenn. 10/5 stars!"Davin S.
"Had I not hired John Tenn as my attorney, I don't think I would have gotten nearly as much from my settlement as I did."Darren S.
A Family Firm
We are a family committed to providing excellent service to our clients.
Statewide ServiceWe work hard to obtain the best results possible for clients throughout New Hampshire.
Trial-Tested AttorneysOur lawyers are experienced courtroom advocates who are ready to take your case to trial to obtain justice.
Whether you have questions or you’re ready to get started, our award-winning legal team is ready to help. Complete our form below or call us at (888) 332-5855.