New Hampshire DWI/DUI Lawyers
Were You Arrested for Driving While Intoxicated or Driving Under the Influence in Manchester?
The attorneys at Tenn And Tenn have devoted their practice to defending the rights of those accused of driving under the influence. Our attorneys make it their business to know the ins and outs of the DUI process, from arrest and incarceration to court and DMV hearings to final sentencing and restitution. Our experience has afforded us with knowledge and insight into the DUI/DWI process that few others can match.
The statutory laws and Supreme Court decisions concerning "drunk driving" have changed significantly over recent years. Today, a person arrested in New Hampshire for driving under the influence of alcohol faces complicated procedures and potentially severe punishment.
Assert Your Rights Against a DUI Charge
The consequences of arrests can have a lasting effect on an individual's life long after the court sentences have been fulfilled and the fines have been paid. While the safety of those traveling on our highways is of the utmost importance, what about the rights of individuals who were wrongly accused of driving under the influence? It's an unfortunate reality that, in many instances, the tactics and devices that law enforcement officers use to determine if an individual is intoxicated are wildly inaccurate. The end result — false accusations are made, and arrests take place that never should have.
After you are initially stopped by the police, you will be asked incriminating questions without any advisement of rights and without any immediate right to consult with an attorney. You will then be subjected to a series of "field sobriety tests" under physically and emotionally difficult conditions — tests which may be nearly impossible for most people to satisfactorily perform under the best of circumstances. You may then be given a hand-held preliminary breath test (PBT).
What Happens After the Arrest
After being arrested, you will be requested to submit to breath or blood testing, usually at the police station — and, again, without any right to speak with a lawyer. Contrary to popular belief, the breathalyzers used by the police are not always accurate, and many officers administering them are unfamiliar with the proper procedures. If you refuse, or if the police feel you are not cooperating to their satisfaction, a blood test is often requested. If the breath test is .08% or over, or if there is a blood sample withdrawn or a refusal reported, the police may confiscate your license and issue you a notice of suspension and a 30-day temporary license.
After being charged with DUI in New Hampshire, you now face two battles. First, you must deal with a criminal prosecution in state court. If the breath or blood test was .08% or over, you will also be charged with the so-called "per se" offense.
Fighting a License Suspension
Second, you must deal with a potential administrative license suspension from the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). If the breath test was over .08%, or over .02% if under the age of 21, or if there was a blood sample withdrawn or a refusal reported, the police will confiscate your license and issue you a notice of suspension and 30-day temporary license. A first offense DWI/DUI involves a potential six-month suspension from the DMV; a refusal or a second offense within ten years of a prior conviction triggers a potential two-year suspension. It is critical that your attorney contact the DMV immediately to request a hearing. The importance of this cannot be overstated — absent a timely request, there will be no hearing, and the suspension will automatically take effect 30 days after the arrest or results of the blood test.
How We Can Help You
The New Hampshire DWI/DUI attorneys at Tenn And Tenn can help defend your rights under the law. We rely on our experience in DUI and DWI courts throughout New Hampshire and a practice devoted to this particular arena of law to help us gain the upper hand on your behalf.
For more information, contact the New Hampshire DWI/DUI lawyers at Tenn And Tenn for a free consultation.
"The team at Tenn And Tenn are hands down the best legal representation I have had the pleasure to work with."Justin B.
"I could not have been more fortunate to have selected the offices of Tenn & Tenn. 10/5 stars!"Davin S.
"Had I not hired John Tenn as my attorney, I don't think I would have gotten nearly as much from my settlement as I did."Darren S.
A Family Firm
We are a family committed to providing excellent service to our clients.
Statewide ServiceWe work hard to obtain the best results possible for clients throughout New Hampshire.
Trial-Tested AttorneysOur lawyers are experienced courtroom advocates who are ready to take your case to trial to obtain justice.
Whether you have questions or you’re ready to get started, our award-winning legal team is ready to help. Complete our form below or call us at (888) 332-5855.