Multiple DWI Charges in New Hampshire
Multiple DWI Charges
It is important to retain the services of a skilled NH DUI defense lawyer if you have been arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in New Hampshire, but absolutely imperative if you have been charged with a second or subsequent DUI offense. If you have already been convicted of a DUI or DWI in NH, being convicted again will carry harsher penalties. Furthermore, having a past drunk or intoxicated driving offense(s) on your record could make the challenges against you in court more difficult to overcome. The only way to avoid or lessen the severe penalties of another conviction is to consult with a knowledgeable New Hampshire DUI/DWI defense lawyer that has years of experience building strong arguments in defense of their clients.
DWI Penalties for Multiple Offenders
The following sets forth some of the likely penalties you would face for your alleged subsequent DWI/DUI, in New Hampshire:
Second DUI Offense – You will be guilty of a class A misdemeanor; you will be fined not less than $750; you will be ordered to a required sentence of 10 consecutive days, or no less than 37 consecutive days if the repeated offense occurred within 2 years of the former, with 7 of the consecutive days being spent at the 7-day multiple DWI offender intervention program; your driver's license or privilege will be revoked for at least 3 years; you will be required to pay a fee to the commissioner for the costs of the DWI offender intervention program; and, per the court's discretion, will be required to complete additional alcohol and/or drug counseling or treatment programs; and SR-22 and Ignition Interlock Device.
Third DUI Offense - Includes second offense penalties, with the following alterations: Your driver's license will be revoked indefinitely and not restored for at least 5 years, and then only if the court grants your petition to reapply for a driver's license; and you will be ordered to a mandatory sentence of no less than 180 consecutive days, where 28 of the consecutive days are spent in a 28-day residential treatment program at your own expense.
Fourth and Subsequent DUI Offense - Includes all second and third offense penalties, with the following changes: You will be guilty of a felony; and your driver's license will be revoked indefinitely without the possibility of petitioning the court to reapply.
It is also important to note, that any action taken against your driver's license or privilege in New Hampshire will likely affect your driver's license or privilege in any other state. For example, if you are prohibited from holding a driver's license in NH, you will likely be prohibited from holding a driver's license in another state.
Protecting Your Rights as an Alleged Multiple DUI Offender
The mere fact that you have been convicted for a DUI/DWI in New Hampshire in the past does not mean you do not have legal rights. At the Manchester DWI defense law firm of Tenn And Tenn, P.A., we will ensure that your legal rights are protected and we will present the best possible defense on your behalf.
To learn more about how we can help you, please contact us today at (888) 332-5855.
"The team at Tenn And Tenn are hands down the best legal representation I have had the pleasure to work with."Justin B.
"I could not have been more fortunate to have selected the offices of Tenn & Tenn. 10/5 stars!"Davin S.
"Had I not hired John Tenn as my attorney, I don't think I would have gotten nearly as much from my settlement as I did."Darren S.
A Family Firm
We are a family committed to providing excellent service to our clients.
Statewide ServiceWe work hard to obtain the best results possible for clients throughout New Hampshire.
Trial-Tested AttorneysOur lawyers are experienced courtroom advocates who are ready to take your case to trial to obtain justice.
Whether you have questions or you’re ready to get started, our award-winning legal team is ready to help. Complete our form below or call us at (888) 332-5855.