Top

NH DWI Conviction Brings Heavier Penalties for Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Holders

An NH driver with a commercial driver’s license (CDL) faces harsh consequences if convicted of DWI. Commercial driver’s license holders may see their licenses suspended for up to one (1) year if they are convicted of driving a commercial motor vehicle, like a semi-truck or bus, or even a non-commercial vehicle, with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04 percent- one-half of the legal BAC limit for drivers of private passenger vehicles. If the driver is hauling hazardous materials at the time, the suspension may last up to three (3) years. Furthermore, a CDL holder who is convicted of DUI in New Hampshire two (2) or more times faces a ten (10) year to a lifetime loss of his or her CDL.

Most drivers who have CDLs need to keep that license in good standing so they can work and provide for themselves and their families. When a driver is arrested for or charged with drunk driving, the best chance of keeping his or her CDL lies in building an aggressive defense against the DUI charge.

At Tenn And Tenn, P.A., our knowledgeable NH DWI defense attorneys work hard to protect the rights of our clients. To find out how we can help you, call Tenn And Tenn, P.A. today at (888) 332-5855 for a free confidential telephone consultation.

Here is more information on NH DWI penalties for CDL holders:

265-A:23 Commercial Licensing; Penalties; Driving Under the Influence

Any person who drives a commercial motor vehicle with or without a valid commercial driver's license and commits one of the following offenses shall be punished as follows:

I. The commissioner shall suspend for at least one year, the commercial driver's license of a person who is found to have committed a first violation of driving a commercial motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or with an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or greater, or other controlled substances, notwithstanding RSA 265-A:11, I.

II. If the driver commits a violation of paragraph I while carrying hazardous materials, the suspension shall be for a period of 3 years.

III. The commissioner shall suspend for life, or a period of not less than 10 years, according to federal Department of Transportation regulations, the commercial driver's license of a person who is found to have committed a second violation of driving a commercial motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or with an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or greater, or other controlled substance, notwithstanding RSA 265-A:11, I.

Categories: 
Related Posts
  • Extreme or Aggravated DUI in New Hampshire Read More
  • Can I Be Kicked Out of College Because of a Marijuana DWI? Read More
  • What’s the Difference Between Buzzed Driving and DWI? Read More
/
Why Choose Tenn And Tenn Let Our Family Help Your Family
  • A Family Firm

    We are a family committed to providing excellent service to our clients.

  • Statewide Service
    We work hard to obtain the best results possible for clients throughout New Hampshire.
  • Trial-Tested Attorneys
    Our lawyers are experienced courtroom advocates who are ready to take your case to trial to obtain justice.
Free Injury Consultations Available Contact Us Today

Whether you have questions or you’re ready to get started, our award-winning legal team is ready to help. Complete our form below or call us at (888) 332-5855.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.

Please do not include any confidential or sensitive information in a contact form, text message, or voicemail. The contact form sends information by non-encrypted email, which is not secure. Submitting a contact form, sending a text message, making a phone call, or leaving a voicemail does not create an attorney-client relationship.