According to reports, police say that a Londonderry police officer of Amherst, New Hampshire, was charged in an alleged drunken driving crash that killed a Manchester woman late Friday night. The officer, identified as Tyler Berry, was charged Friday night for a crash that led to the death of the other driver, 21-year-old Sierra Croteau of Manchester, police said. Police arrested the man and charged him with felony aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol.
The auto accident attorneys at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. provide information about wrongful death claims in the event that you lose a loved one in an accident.
What is a Wrongful Death Claim?
A wrongful death claim is a civil lawsuit filed against a negligent driver who causes a deadly accident. These claims are typically filed by surviving spouses, parents, children, or other family members of an individual who is tragically killed in an auto accident.
Wrongful death claims are different from criminal charges. Criminal charges are brought against a driver by the police following an accident that involved the commission of a crime, such as driving under the influence or reckless driving.
A wrongful death claim allows surviving family members to recover financial compensation for the loss of their loved one. A multitude of factors are used to calculate the compensation award, and each award varies from claim to claim. Family members may recover for the mental and physical pain suffered by the deceased in the accident. Reimbursement for the reasonable expenses incurred by surviving family members is also available in New Hampshire. Reasonable expenses typically include:
- medical bills,
- legal fees, and
- funeral expenses.
Family members are also eligible for compensation for the probable duration of the deceased’s life if the accident had not occurred and the capacity to earn money during the deceased party’s probable working life.
Surviving spouses, parents, and minor children may recover additional damages by filing a wrongful death claim. If a surviving spouse files a wrongful death claim, they may be eligible for compensation for:
- the loss of comfort,
- the loss of society, and
- the loss of companionship of their deceased spouse, limited to $150,000.
Parents who lose a minor child in an accident may recover for the loss of a familial relationship with the child. Minor children who lose a parent may also recover the same. These damages are limited to $50,000 per individual claimant.
In most cases, a wrongful death claim must be filed within six years of the date of the loss of a loved one.
Contact New Hampshire Auto Accident Attorneys
If you’ve lost a loved one in an auto accident caused by a negligent driver in New Hampshire, you can turn to the wrongful death attorneys at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. for help. We understand that this is a difficult time and invite you to call us at (888) 332-5855 for a free consultation. We will help you understand your rights and options regarding filing a wrongful death claim so that you get the compensation that you and your family deserve.