Manchester Man Passes Out Behind the Wheel in Hooksett Parking Lot

A Manchester man was recently arrested in the parking lot of a Hooksett grocery store for aggravated DUI. Employees at the grocery store called police to report a man unconscious behind the wheel with the car still running. The man woke up when police reached into the vehicle to turn off the engine. The automobile was full of empty alcohol containers and police stated that the vehicle, and the man, had a very heavy alcohol odor.

Police asked the man to submit to standard field sobriety tests to which the man complied. Afterward, the man was arrested for aggravated DUI. Hooksett police reported that the man had a 0.22 blood alcohol content.

Aggravated DUI in New Hampshire

Driving under the influence (DUI) is a very serious crime in the state of New Hampshire. The consequences of being arrested for DUI can have a long-lasting impact on your life and livelihood. Even first-time offenders can expect to face steep penalties, such large fines, jail time, and even license suspension. The penalties get worse when there are aggravating factors involved in your DUI, elevating the charge to an Aggravated DUI. There are a number of factors that elevate a DUI to an aggravated DUI and some of those factors include:

  • “Having a passenger in the car under the age of 16;
  • Driving over 30 miles per hour over the posted speed limit;
  • Having a blood-alcohol content test result of .16% or greater;
  • Attempting to evade or escape law enforcement;
  • Causing a collision that results in a death or a serious injury to another person or multiple people.”

In the scenario above, the man registered a 0.22 blood alcohol content. The report does not tell us whether the 0.22 was registered on the preliminary breath test or the Intoxylizer breath test. If you are arrested for an aggravated DUI, the specific breath testing device used to register your blood alcohol content can be very important in building a defense for your case.

Penalties for an Aggravated DUI

Any one of the above factors can drastically increase your sentencing and any penalties you may face if you are convicted of your aggravated DUI charge. Aggravated DUI penalties may look like the following penalties:

  • “Fines at a minimum of $750;
  • Mandatory jail time for a minimum of 17 days to a maximum of one year;
  • Referral to the Impaired Driver Care Management Program for substance abuse treatment at the expense of the defendant;
  • Regular substance abuse disorder evaluations. The first will be 30 days following the release from jail, and completion of the evaluation will be 60 days following the release from jail. Any programs or service involved will be at the expense of the defendant.
  • License suspension for a minimum of 18 months to a maximum of 2 years.”

Keep note, this list of penalties is not an exhaustive list by any means and it is best that you work with an experienced DUI defense lawyer to best protect your rights.

Call New Hampshire DUI Attorneys Tenn And Tenn, P.A.

If you or a loved one has been arrested with an aggravated DUI charge you need the assistance of an experienced DUI defense attorney. The skilled attorneys at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. have the dedication and experience to ensure that you receive the best possible outcome in your case. Contact Tenn And Tenn, P.A. today for a free consultation!

Why Choose Tenn And Tenn Let Our Family Help Your Family
  • A Family Firm

    We are a family committed to providing excellent service to our clients.

  • Statewide Service
    We work hard to obtain the best results possible for clients throughout New Hampshire.
  • Trial-Tested Attorneys
    Our lawyers are experienced courtroom advocates who are ready to take your case to trial to obtain justice.
Free Injury Consultations Available Contact Us Today

Whether you have questions or you’re ready to get started, our award-winning legal team is ready to help. Complete our form below or call us at (888) 332-5855.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy

Please do not include any confidential or sensitive information in a contact form, text message, or voicemail. The contact form sends information by non-encrypted email, which is not secure. Submitting a contact form, sending a text message, making a phone call, or leaving a voicemail does not create an attorney-client relationship.