How to Obtain a Motorcycle License in New Hampshire

In the state of New Hampshire, motorcycle drivers must have a current, valid motorcycle license or permit.  There are several steps in order to obtain a motorcycle license or permit. First and foremost, you must be a licensed driver in New Hampshire.

A motorcycle learner’s permit is valid for 45 days or until the motorcyclist receives a license.  A permit can be applied for at any DMV office by a New Hampshire resident 18 years old or older, or by someone between 16 and 18 years old who has successfully passed an approved driver’s education class.  A motorcyclist with a learner’s permit can only ride between sunrise and sunset, and he or she is not allowed to have any passengers.  Someone who wants a motorcycle learner’s permit must pass a vision test and the motorcycle knowledge test, which is based on the Motorcycle Handbook.  There is also a $30 fee, which will also cover a motorcycle license if that application is filed within a year of the learner’s permit.

In order to obtain a motorcycle license you must be at least 16 years old, have a current, valid New Hampshire license, pass a vision test and provide proof of your fitness to operate a motorcycle.  A license applicant can prove his fitness by either passing a Basic Rider Class or taking a DMV motorcycle skills test.  If the rider is under the age of 18, in addition to passing the Basic Rider Class, the motorcyclist must also provide a parental permission form.  There is also a $30 application fee to apply for a motorcycle license, which is waived if the learner’s permit was applied for within the past year.

The DMV offers the skills test only on a seasonable basis when conditions are safe.  Scheduled tests will be held rain or shine.  When taking the test, motorcyclists must provide their own motorcycle that complies with all New Hampshire inspection laws and rules.  It must be currently registered and inspected.  If a rider fails the skills test twice he is required to take a motorcycle rider training class in order to obtain a motorcycle license.

For nearly 20 years the Motorcycle Lawyers at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. have been helping people who have been injured in motorcycle crashes across New Hampshire.  The motorcycle attorneys of Tenn And Tenn have recovered millions of dollars on behalf of their injured clients. With more than 20 years experience in helping clients involved in motorcycle crashes, our lawyers are seasoned professionals who are dedicated to the motorcycle community.  The NH Motorcycle Lawyers can be reached at (888) 332-5855.

Related Posts
  • Motorcycle Accident Fatalities in New Hampshire in 2023 Read More
  • Are Lane-Splitting and Lane-Filtering Legal in New Hampshire? Read More
  • The Physics of Motorcycle Crashes Read More
Why Choose Tenn And Tenn Let Our Family Help Your Family
  • A Family Firm

    We are a family committed to providing excellent service to our clients.

  • Statewide Service
    We work hard to obtain the best results possible for clients throughout New Hampshire.
  • Trial-Tested Attorneys
    Our lawyers are experienced courtroom advocates who are ready to take your case to trial to obtain justice.
Free Injury Consultations Available Contact Us Today

Whether you have questions or you’re ready to get started, our award-winning legal team is ready to help. Complete our form below or call us at (888) 332-5855.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy

Please do not include any confidential or sensitive information in a contact form, text message, or voicemail. The contact form sends information by non-encrypted email, which is not secure. Submitting a contact form, sending a text message, making a phone call, or leaving a voicemail does not create an attorney-client relationship.