Top

Simple Assault in New Hampshire

Simple assault in NH is generally characterized as unprivileged physical contact of another person. Under NH law, Simple Assault is a misdemeanor offense.  State prosecutors and law enforcement agencies have the discretion to charge Simple Assault as a class “A” or a class “B” misdemeanor.  A class “A” misdemeanor conviction carries a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and a $2,000 fine.  A class “B” misdemeanor conviction carries a maximum fine of $1,200 dollars. If you are charged with Simple Assault, contact the NH Criminal Defense Attorneys at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. in Manchester, NH to discuss your criminal charge and protect your legal rights.

NH Simple Assault Laws

The NH criminal code specifically defines Simple Assault as follows:

631:2-a Simple Assault

I. A person is guilty of simple assault if he:
(a) Purposely or knowingly causes bodily injury or unprivileged physical contact to another; or
(b) Recklessly causes bodily injury to another; or
(c) Negligently causes bodily injury to another by means of a deadly weapon.

II. Simple assault is a misdemeanor unless committed in a fight entered into by mutual consent, in which case it is a violation.

Simple Assault Penalties

The possible penalties for a NH simple assault charge are anything but simple. Penalties can include a wide range of sanctions including:

  • Fines
  • Jail Time
  • Restraining Orders and No Contact orders
  • Court fees
  • Criminal record
  • Anger Management Counseling

NH Simple Assault charges can result from a wide variety of conduct. As such, the penalty imposed if you are convicted often depends upon the facts and severity of the alleged conduct. Having a qualified NH criminal defense attorney by your side is the best first step to protect you from harsh legal consequences.

Contact a NH Criminal Defense Attorney

If you have been charged with Misdemeanor Simple Assault in NH, it is critical that you contact a NH Criminal Defense Attorney as soon as possible to discuss your legal charges. The NH criminal lawyers at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. have defended many Simple Assault cases.  They have the experience and the knowledge to mount the best possible defense on your behalf.  If you are facing a simple assault charge in New Hampshire, we are here to help and can be reached at (888) 332-5855.

Categories: 
Related Posts
  • Extreme or Aggravated DUI in New Hampshire Read More
  • Manchester Man Convicted of Drug Trafficking Read More
  • After Hospital Trip, Police Search Home and Find Drugs Read More
/
Why Choose Tenn And Tenn Let Our Family Help Your Family
  • A Family Firm

    We are a family committed to providing excellent service to our clients.

  • Statewide Service
    We work hard to obtain the best results possible for clients throughout New Hampshire.
  • Trial-Tested Attorneys
    Our lawyers are experienced courtroom advocates who are ready to take your case to trial to obtain justice.
Free Injury Consultations Available Contact Us Today

Whether you have questions or you’re ready to get started, our award-winning legal team is ready to help. Complete our form below or call us at (888) 332-5855.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.

Please do not include any confidential or sensitive information in a contact form, text message, or voicemail. The contact form sends information by non-encrypted email, which is not secure. Submitting a contact form, sending a text message, making a phone call, or leaving a voicemail does not create an attorney-client relationship.