Merrimack, NH Resources
Legal Guidance in Merrimack for Criminal Defense, Injury, and Family Law Matters
With more than two decades of legal experience, the lawyers at Tenn And Tenn provide skilled representation in a broad range of criminal and civil matters. We recognize the importance of understanding the specific needs and goals of each client. Our personal injury, criminal defense, and family law attorneys have assisted many individuals from Merrimack and the surrounding communities in exploring their options and asserting their rights.
Holding Negligent Parties Accountable for Damages in Motorcycle and Automobile Crashes
If the negligent actions of another person or entity have caused harm to you or a loved one, pursuing a personal injury action against that party may be a useful way to pursue compensation. A typical negligence claim requires the plaintiff to prove that the defendant owed a duty to the victim, the defendant breached that duty, the defendant’s actions were the proximate cause of the accident, and the plaintiff incurred quantifiable damages as a result. There may be many forms of compensatory damages to which an accident victim is entitled, such as medical expenses, lost and future income, pain and suffering, loss of consortium, property damage, and more. However, New Hampshire has a strict time limit on bringing these claims, known as the statute of limitations. It is important to take legal action soon after an accident so that you are not barred from pursuing compensation.
Protecting the Rights of Merrimack Residents in DWI/DUI Cases
The DUI attorneys at Tenn And Tenn frequently defend people against drunk driving charges. In New Hampshire, the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit for most drivers is .08 percent, and for commercial drivers and minors the BAC limit is even lower. If a police officer has probable cause to believe that you have been driving under the influence, you may be arrested and subject to a DUI charge. In the event of a conviction, the penalties may be harsh. For first-time offenders, a conviction may mean the suspension of your license for a period from 90 days to two years, a fine ranging from $500 to $1,200 plus a penalty assessment, and 20 hours of an impaired driver intervention program at your cost. The penalties increase for repeat offenders or when the situation is aggravated by certain factors. An effective legal defense may improve your chances of a dismissal, a reduced charge or penalty, or a more favorable plea agreement.
Representation for Defendants Fighting Criminal Charges
We handle a variety of criminal defense cases, including reckless driving, resisting arrest, criminal trespass, drug possession and transportation, simple assault, willful concealment, and other violations and misdemeanors. For example, a person in New Hampshire commits criminal trespass if he or she knowingly enters or remains in any place when he is not licensed or privileged to do so. Depending on the facts of the case, this offense may be charged as a felony, misdemeanor, or violation. A felony charge likely will result if it is a repeat offense and the defendant knowingly or recklessly caused property damages in excess of $1,500. A misdemeanor offense occurs when the trespass takes place in an occupied structure, when the person knowingly enters or remains in a secured property, when the owner of the premises or another authorized person has ordered the defendant to leave or not enter, or when the defendant violates a restraining order. All other cases of criminal trespass are violations. Since these and other criminal charges can lead to severe penalties if convicted of the offense, retaining a capable defense attorney to protect your rights against the prosecution may be a valuable step to take.
Furthering Your Interests in Family Law Disputes
Coping with the emotional impact of a divorce while handling the subsequent legal proceedings can be a stressful experience, but the attorneys at Tenn And Tenn can help. We assist clients in a variety of domestic relations cases, including those involving divorce, alimony, child custody and support, division of property, mediation, and more.
After a petition for divorce is filed, there are many legal determinations that follow, one of which is the division of marital assets. New Hampshire is an equitable distribution state. This means that the court will start with a presumption that a 50/50 division of the property is most equitable, but it may make adjustments if an equal division is not appropriate or equitable after considering a number of enumerated legal factors. These factors are outlined in RSA 458:16-a, II. Since this process can be complex, especially in a high-asset divorce, legal guidance is often useful for a divorcing spouse to protect his or her interests.
Consult a Merrimack Lawyer to Discuss a Civil or Criminal Case
Located in Hillsboro County, Merrimack is a historical town, home to Matthew Thornton, a signer of the Declaration of Independence. The Signer’s House and Matthew Thornton Cemetery are still notable landmarks in the town today. If you are seeking an experienced attorney in Merrimack for a personal injury claim, a defense to DWI/DUI or other criminal charges, or a family law dispute, Tenn And Tenn is equipped to assist you. Schedule a consultation today by calling us toll-free at (888) 511-1010 or locally at (603) 624-3700, or by using our online form.