Whether you call it marijuana, cannabis, pot, ganja, weed, chronic, bud, hydro or reefer, in New Hampshire it’s illegal.
Although some lawmakers in New Hampshire are trying to decriminalize the use of marijuana, Governor Maggie Hassan has promised to veto any move to do so. This means, for now, it is illegal to possess pot in the Granite State.
You don’t have to be a drug kingpin to land in hot water. Being in possession of the smallest amount of marijuana can lead to big fines and long prison sentences. Under current NH law, any amount of marijuana, no matter how small, can be charged as a Class "A" misdemeanor, with penalties up to 1 year in jail and up to a $2,000 fine. And distribution doesn’t mean you have to be running a drug ring – it can mean sharing what you have with your buddy.
New Hampshire’s drug laws carry severe penalties. Possession of less than 1 ounce of marijuana can mean up to 3 years in prison and a $25,000 fine. Possessing more than 1 ounce, can mean7 years in prison and up to a $100,000 fine. In addition to these crimes being felonies, they can lead to loss of a job, loss of a driver’s license, expulsion from school, and loss of student loans and financial aid.
Not all marijuana arrests lead to jail time. But it can happen. Which is why you should contact the criminal defense attorneys at Tenn And Tenn, P.A.
We work with our clients to find the most effective resolution possible. We begin by identifying all factual and legal defenses. We examine each and every stop and search to ensure your Constitutional rights were not violated. In many situations your case will not have to go to trial, but can be resolved by creating a strategy which includes community service and substance abuse treatment plans.
If you are charged with Possession of a Controlled Drug in NH, don’t delay. Let us help identify the issues in your case to bring your matter to a successful resolution. Contact our criminal defense attorneys today. At Tenn And Tenn, we will fight for our clients.