Manchester, New Hampshire DUI Lawyer
The New Hampshire DUI Attorneys at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. have devoted their practice to defending the rights of those accused of driving under the influence. Our attorneys make it their business to know the ins and outs of the DUI process, from arrest and incarceration, to court and DMV Hearings, to final sentencing and restitution. Our experience has afforded us with knowledge and insight into the DUI/DWI process that few others can match. As a service to our readers, we have created this website as an avenue for those who have been accused of DUI in New Hampshire to obtain valuable information.
The statutory laws and Supreme Court decisions concerning "drunk driving" have changed significantly over recent years. Today, a person arrested in New Hampshire for driving under the influence of alcohol ("DUI" or "DWI") faces complicated procedures and potentially severe punishment.Assert Your Rights Against a DUI Charge
The consequences of these arrests can have a lasting effect on an individual's life and livelihood long after the court sentences have been fulfilled and the fines have been paid. While the safety of those traveling on our highways is of the utmost importance, what about the rights of those individuals that are wrongly accused of driving under the influence? It's an unfortunate reality that in many instances the tactics and devices which law enforcement officers use to determine if an individual is intoxicated are wildly inaccurate. The end result; false accusations are made -- and arrests take place that never should have.
After you are initially stopped by the police, you will be asked incriminating questions without any Miranda advisement of rights and without any immediate right to consult with an attorney. You will then be subjected to a series of "field sobriety tests" under physically and emotionally difficult conditions -- tests which may be nearly impossible for most people to satisfactorily perform under the best of circumstances. You may then be given a hand-held preliminary breath test ("PBT").What Happens After the Arrest
After being arrested, you will be requested to submit to breath or blood testing, usually at the police station -- and, again, without any right to speak with a New Hampshire DUI lawyer. Contrary to popular belief, the breathalyzers used by the police are not always accurate and many officers administering them are unfamiliar with the proper procedures. If you refuse, or if the police feel you are not cooperating to their satisfaction, a blood test is often requested. If the breath test is .08% or over, or if there is a blood sample withdrawn or a refusal reported, the police may confiscate your license and issue you a notice of suspension and a 30-day temporary license.
After being charged with DUI in New Hampshire, you now face two battles. First, you must deal with a criminal prosecution in state court. If the breath or blood test was .08% or over, you will also be charged with the so-called "per se" offense, driving with .08% or over blood-alcohol.Fighting a License Suspension
Second, you must deal with a potential administrative license suspension from the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles ("DMV"). If the breath test was over .08%, or over .02% if under the age of 21, or if there was a blood sample withdrawn or a refusal reported, the police will confiscate your license and issue you a notice of suspension and 30-day temporary license. A first offense DWI/DUI involves a potential six month suspension from the DMV; a refusal or a second offense within ten years of a prior conviction triggers a potential two-year suspension. These suspensions may be successfully contested by an experienced NH DUI attorney; but, it is critical that you or, preferably, your attorney, contact the DMV immediately to request a hearing. The importance of this cannot be overstated; absent a timely request, there will be no hearing and the suspension will automatically take effect 30 days after the arrest or results of the blood test.What Our Clients Say
"When I was charged with DWI, I felt like my life was over. I knew I was facing a lengthy court suspension as well as a six (6) month loss of license from the DMV. Hiring Attorney John Tenn was the best thing I could have ever done. To this day, I am amazed that we won the Administrative License Suspension Hearing and, with Attorney John Tenn's help, I was found not guilty of DWI. I am very grateful and appreciate all that Attorney Tenn has done for me.
David Merrimack, NH.
For more information on DUI and DWI in New Hampshire, feel free to contact us by calling 1-888-511-1010 for a free consultation of your situation, you can also fill out our online consultation form and an NH attorney from our staff will contact you.New Hampshire DUI Arrest A DWI or DUI arrest can be a truly traumatic experience. Law enforcement officials are combing the streets looking for individuals they feel might be driving under the influence. Our DWI Arrest content pages discuss topics ranging from what officers look for when trying to catch drunk drivers, to the sobriety checkpoints that are erected all over our state in an effort to ensnare drunk drivers, to the types of roadside sobriety tests law enforcement officials might administer.
Today, a person arrested in New Hampshire for driving under the influence of alcohol ("DUI" or "DWI") faces complicated procedures and potentially severe punishment. The NH DWI attorneys at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. can help defend your rights under the law, while attempting to secure a favorable outcome from your case, if not it's outright dismissal. We rely on our experience in DUI and DWI courts throughout New Hampshire, and a practice devoted to this particular arena of law to help us gain the upper hand in court on your behalf.
If you have been charged with DWI/DUI in New Hampshire, we offer the information contained on this site as a free resource to you. For more information on DUI and DWI defense, contact the NH DWI lawyers at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. today for a free telephone consultation.
The experienced DWI lawyers at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. regularly handle DWI case and administrative license suspension hearings relating to NH drunk driving charges. If you have been charged with DWI/DUI in New Hampshire, contact the New Hampshire drunk driving defense attorneys at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. today for a free telephone consultation at 1.888.511.1010.