If you reside outside of New Hampshire but have been arrested for driving under the influence while traveling through New Hampshire, let our experienced DWI lawyers assist you in resolving this criminal charge. A DWI charge in NH is a serious motor vehicle offense and a crime. As an out-of-state resident, understanding all of the implications of a NH DWI charge can be a daunting process. The highly respected DWI lawyers at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. are here to help you fight your criminal DWI charge.
If you are convicted of DUI in New Hampshire, the NH Division of Motor vehicles will notify your home state of that conviction. New Hampshire participates in the Driver License Compact, which interstate compact expressly provides for direct communication between states concerning license suspensions and other traffic matters. Simply put, the compact allows participating states to inform the non-resident home state of the DUI.
For example, if a Massachusetts resident is arrested in New Hampshire for a DWI, the NH DMV will notify Massachusetts of the arrest through the National Driver Register. The DWI will then be acted upon as if it had originated in the state of Massachusetts.
The implications of the compact prevent out-of-state residents from avoiding the penalties imposed in NH. Frankly, there may be nowhere to hide from a DWI.
If you hold an out-of-state license and are facing a DWI charge in New Hampshire, the penalties imposed will almost always follow you to the state where you live. Fighting your DWI is the critical first step to minimize any home state implications.
New Hampshire DUI laws provide strong penalties for those convicted of this crime. A first-time conviction in New Hampshire can result in a 10-day minimum jail sentence, up to a $2,000 fine, and a license suspension of up to two years.
The NH DWI lawyers at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. understand local drunk-driving laws and can provide you with the highest quality legal representation to minimize your penalties.